Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

“My Mother is an Orange Rind”

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on August 31, 2010

    Tom, twenty-four, an artist, struggles with his relationship with his fifty-two year old mom. Tom turns to her for comfort, inevitably feeling disappointed. “She is an orange rind,” he says. “What do you mean?” I ask. “She is very tough. I can never get to the soft parts.” Tom says with overwhelming sadness. “That really hurts you. You so wish that you could have a more tender relationship with her.” I say, repeating his idea. “Yes,” Tom cries, “I have given up.” “Not quite,” I say. “It seems like you still wish for a mother you do not have,” I reply. “Yes, but I know her, and I know she is not capable of understanding my emotions,” Tom says. “Yes, but each time you feel the need you turn to her and then you are disappointed,” I say. “Yes, but I am less disappointed each time because I am learning what to expect,” Tom says in a way which changes his tone from sadness to resignation. “An orange rind,” I repeat. “That is an interesting way of putting it.” Tom’s creative abilities percolate through his pain. He gave me an image which helped me understand his experience. I hope he experiences me as the inside of that orange. I should  ask him about that.  

8 Responses to ““My Mother is an Orange Rind””

  1. Shelly said

    Great piece. What do you make of the terms your patients come up with? Is it something you think about after they leave your office? While you are a psychiatrist, you are also a person too: I bet your patients stories and difficulties affect you long after they have left the office. Do psychiatrists compartmentalize?

    • I love to think about the descriptions my patients use to describe their internal experience. To me, it is like looking at art-inspiring and thought provoking. So yes, I think about it a lot. Compartmentalizing is a challenge, since part of my work is letting my patients’ ideas percolate in me throughout the day. So, although some compartmentalizing is useful, sometimes it is important to let the ideas and feelings inside in order to help me understand things. As usual, you are giving me ideas for another post.

  2. Suzi said

    My mother always felt volnerable to me. I don’t know why. She was always so tough, brave and strong. I also don’t know how my other siblings felt about her.

    Really lovely post.

    • When you say your mother “always felt vulnerable” I wonder if you mean vulnerable in a nice way or vulnerable in a fragile way?

      • Suzi said

        Yeah – she always felt fragile. Even though she seemed so tough and had everything under control – she was so fragile too.

        Mind you… she was a very busy person. The farm and us (4 kids) to take care of and feed and dad was always away working and stuff… amazing lady is my mum!

  3. Funny how things you stumble across online can resonate so deeply…

Leave a comment