Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

Archive for August 8th, 2010

Interrupting

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on August 8, 2010

Carl, https://shirahvollmermd.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/right-brain-hypertrophy/, told me that “interrupting is cultural. The fact that you don’t interrupt used to make me think you were cold, but now I realize that where I come from interrupting is a sign of enthusiasm, but that is probably not true for you.” “Interrupting is rude” I reply quickly. “We have a different take,” Carl responds as quickly as I did. “I experience interruption as an assault,” I try to explain.”I know you do,” Carl says. “Well, if you know I do, why do you do it?” I ask. “I just can’t help myself, “Carl responds.

Thinking is a pleasure. Stopping thinking mid-way hurts. I do not understand the cultural acceptance of interrupting. “Maybe you are saying the cultural aspects of interrupting to deflect from the subject that your interrupting me hurts our relationship,” I say. “Yep, I can see that,” Carl agrees easily. This aggressive part to our relationship grabs me in that our sessions are alive with repartee and energy. At the same time, they are filled with arrows thrown back and forth, in the form of interruption. Carl leaves. I am able to think on my own. He gives me a lot to ponder. I appreciate the space to do that.

Posted in Doctor/Patient Relationship, Musings | 8 Comments »