Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

The Cancellation

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on August 16, 2010

      Ruthie, thirty-three, has not seen me in over a year. At that time, she cancelled her last appointment saying she was “better” and she no longer needed my services. She came to me through her psychologist who felt that her medications could be managed better by me than by her primary care doctor. I prescribed psychotropics which by her account “changed her life.” I connected with her internist who felt that the psychotropics he was prescribing seemed to “do the trick” such that he did not understand why she was being referred to me. I explained to him that certain medications change how people feel such that even though she was stable, the patient felt better on different medications. The internist, Dr. Yee, said, “yes, but couldn’t that be a placebo effect?” “Of course,” I say, “that is always possible.”

   Recently, Ruthie called me on a Friday afternoon, saying that although she has not seen me in a “long time” and she is no longer seeing her previous therapist, she has a new psychotherapist, and she has changed back to her psychotropics prescribed by Dr. Yee, she wants to come back and see me. . Now she says “it is time for a change.” I remember Ruthie well and I look forward to seeing her again, although from our conversation, I am not sure what “time for a change” means. I offer her appointments for the following week, but she says “oh, no I cannot do those times, I have a busy week, how about the next week?” she asks. “Monday,” I say; she enthusiastically accepts. Nine days later, on Sunday, I pick up my messages. “Hi, it’s Ruthie, I need to cancel my appointment for tomorrow since my new therapist sent me to a psychiatrist and I think we are on the right track. If things don’t work out, I will call you back.”

     When did she see the psychiatrist? I wonder. When did she decide not to keep her appointment with me on Monday? I wonder still. Why did she not cancel with me the moment she finished with seeing her new psychiatrist? Maybe she was ambivalent about changing psychiatrists. Maybe on Sunday,  she looked at her calendar for Monday and realized that she no longer needed to see me and she should let me know. I think back to my conversation with Dr. Yee. Maybe he was on to something when he mentioned the placebo effect. Maybe Ruthie is the kind of patient that is vulnerable to placing halos over new doctors. For many people, new represents improved, even though cognitively that makes no sense. New could be improved, but new could  be a lateral move, or a downward step.

     Cancellations, generally speaking, are stimulating. Some colleagues consider cancellations to be aggressive acts against the therapist. Other colleagues spell out cancellation policies which do not allow for personal emergencies. Psychoanalysts, historically speaking, consider their time “leased” meaning that holding the time, whether the patient uses it or not, warrants a fee; it makes therapy  similar to an apartment.

    In Ruthie’s case, I doubt she thinks that I am think about the underpinnings of her cancellation. Ruthie sees me as a psychopharmacologist who at one time in her life helped her, but at this time, maybe another psychiatrist can do even better. Ruthie is not thinking about the relationship she has with me; she is thinking about my psychopharmacological skills. As such, another psychiatrist might have a different skill set which can help her in a new way. By contrast, I am wondering about Ruthie. How has her life changed in the past year? Why now did she decide to make a change? I will miss seeing her.

6 Responses to “The Cancellation”

  1. Kristin said

    Very interesting. I wonder if you’d be thinking about her as much if she had been more considerate and had cancelled immediately upon making the appointment with the other psychiatrist.

    One thing we all get from our doctors is the sense that there is someone out there who cares about our problems and is concerned with our well-being. That concern and interest is valuable in itself; it is an important part of the “care” that we get from our all of our physicians, and I imagine this is probably even more true with psychiatrists.

    I’m assuming that some sort of mental shift occurs in your mind when someone becomes a patient again after a long absence. Is that true? Did Ruthie get transferred onto your mental “current patient” roster at the time she made the appointment? It sounds like that shift started to occur in your mind right when the appointment was made, even though you hadn’t actually seen her yet. If some part of your brain started worrying about her problems then (at the time the appointment was made), maybe your “care” also began then. Maybe Ruthie sensed that you were beginning to take on her problems and to think about her in the conversation in which she made the appointment.

    By waiting until the last minute to cancel, maybe she got more of your valuable “care” than she would have received if she had cancelled soon after making the appointment. Maybe she wanted to hold onto the role of being your patient for just a little bit longer, before being relegated to the dustbin of “ex-patient” again. This is all just wild speculation, of course, but your post got me thinking about this possibility.

  2. Suzi said

    Well, I can’t say what Ruthie might be thinking and that includes the ‘psychopharmacologist’ stuff too.

    I think the ‘halo effect’ happens all over the shop.

    I like that you process stuff and the way you do it. Good for you.

  3. Shelly said

    Could it be that either her internist or her psychologist works with a different psychiatrist, and they recommended she go to him instead?

    I also was unaware that a therapist thinks about their clients when the clients aren’t sitting right across from them. That’s fascinating.

    Does it bother you when you “lose” a patient to someone else?

    • Yes, but my question is why she called me in the first place? Why did her internist and/or new therapist recommend someone out of the gate? Maybe they did, but she wanted to see me, but then she was ambivalent so she kept her appointment with me while she checked out another person. I understand that, but even after she saw the other person, she seemed to hold the appointment with me, consciously or unconsciously.

      Yes, I, and all of my colleagues think a lot about our clients when they are not sitting in front of us. This is a very personal field, regardless whether the appointment is a “med check” or a psychotherapy visit.

      Losing a patient is not the issue so much as wondering about how people navigate the various choices that they have. Working in a big city is nice as patients have a lot of options. As such, both patient and provider can work together to see if the fit is a good one. If not, then it is time to refer. Of course, sometimes it is not mutual, and then it is tricky.

Leave a comment