Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

Should Psychoanalytic Teachers Get Paid?

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on February 8, 2017

Tonight I begin my new class in the psychoanalytic psychotherapy program at the New Center for Psychoanalysis. My class is on clinical technique, about what do you actually say when you are in the room with someone, if you are attempting unconscious exploration. In the past, this has been a stimulating class to teach with bright and interesting students and I have always felt that I got back more than I gave forward, and yet, many people have asked me why I don’t get paid for this activity. Tradition is the short answer. Those who taught me, whom I am eternally grateful to, were not paid, so I tell those interested that I am paying it forward. Upon further reflection, though, I wonder if the quality of teaching would improve if there was a stipend associated with the activity. Would market forces create a healthy competition where only the best teachers were asked back, and in turn, the teachers would have incentive to be on the top of their game? In the psychoanalytic community, this discussion is taboo. Like so many traditions, the “young” people are not supposed to question older, more established practices. Like the movie “Moneyball,” the senior members are quite certain they are making the best decisions, even though big data showed that, in fact, their “traditions” failed them. As a medical student, doing rotations in different clinical settings, I learned quickly that the practice of medicine was highly dependent on the reimbursement system, where, in the days before productivity measurements,  doctors who were salaried tended to work less than doctors who were fee for service. This seems obvious in that if someone is paid the same whether they see ten patients or twenty patients, then they are going to argue to see ten patients, and vice versa. Reimbursement systems, like all behavioral systems, impact behavior, and physician behavior is included in this paradigm, of course. So, am I saying that I would be a better teacher if there was a salary associated with it? I think so, but I am not sure. It is an interesting question.

2 Responses to “Should Psychoanalytic Teachers Get Paid?”

  1. Shelly said

    Fee for service is the norm today and your students may respect you and the subject matter more if you did get paid. You may feel better yourself if you did. I do understand the importance of the long-standing tradition of paying it forward, though, and it does have its place as well. On the other hand, physicians who get paid a global salary generally tend to put less effort into something than if they are reimbursed by the number of patients they see, right? So if you were paid by the number of hours you invested into the class, wouldn’t that be better overall?

Leave a Reply

 
