Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

What Goes On In My Waiting Room?

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on October 5, 2015

 

There is a little LEGO man standing on one of my pictures in my waiting room. Yes, I have LEGOS in my waiting room and so, I can imagine, that some person, child, adolescent or adult, thought it would be fun, funny, cute, or something to deposit Mr. Lego man on my picture frame. The gauntlet is laid. Who did that? Do I ask my patients? Do I take it down? Do I smile when I see it? Yep, that is an easy question. I am reminded that so many things happen in my waiting room that I am not privy to. Patients can sit there before or after appointments. There are magazines to read, toys to play with, and yet, when I open the door, most of my patients, regardless of age, are on their phones. I joked with one patient that I can stop my subscriptions, and she said “no, I like to see the magazines, even if I don’t read them any more.” I suppose if I ever get a new office then perhaps the waiting room is unnecessary. I can just text my patients to come in, and then they can tell me their ETA, just like Uber, I suppose. I can give them a little warning, like I will be ready in 5 minutes and then they will show up exactly at that time, as their phone will them to do that. Yet, in this imaginary scenario of a waiting room-less office, I would miss out on seeing my little Lego so cutely sitting atop a picture. I would miss that.

2 Responses to “What Goes On In My Waiting Room?”

  1. Shelly said

    I like the idea of your texting your patients and telling them if you were running late or when you will be ready for them. Nobody likes waiting and to wait for you while you are running late because a previous patient was late seems rude to your next set of patients; however if you let your next patients know your status, then they won’t have to wait as long. I’m curious, though, if you have many chairs in your waiting room, or just one. If you have several, why? Are they all for family members who are seeing you together? Or are they for subsequent patients, one after the next? If so, then how are you protecting patient identities this way?

    • I would not say that no one likes waiting. Some people find it a relaxing experience. I have 3 chairs in my waiting room, because sometimes families come to see me. Protecting privacy is a large concern and so I am always thinking about that. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
