Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

“What Do You Blog About?”

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on August 26, 2013

 

“I blog about things that make me enraged. I blog about stories that I want to tell. I blog to go on record about all the changes in health care that I am fearful about. I blog to report on my witnessing the changes in my field, many of which I am not happy about. ” That’s what I tell people, when they ask, seeming to be surprised that I post so frequently. I blog to express myself to those who might take an interest. I have thoughts, ideas, emotions about things I read, experiences in my day, and people I see, that with the utmost caution of confidentiality, I want to share with others. I am delighted by the feedback, both public and private. I have ideas and I am interested in how others see things, as well. I am thankful that I live in a time where we have the technology that makes this communication forum easy and fun. I consider it a hobby, an activity that keeps me interested and engaged, without any expectation of commerce. Does that answer the question?

2 Responses to ““What Do You Blog About?””

  1. Shelly said

    Yes, it does answer the question. I’d like to know if any of your patients ever see themselves in your blogs, even when you do your very best to maintain confidentiality and change the stories so much that it would be difficult for anyone to recognize themselves. Is it your patients’ fear talking, or is it the truth–that occasionally, patients can recognize themselves in your blog? What do you do then?

    • Hi Shelly,
      My blog has evolved over the years, such that I have shifted away from using daily tales, to more general issues of newspaper articles or teaching preparation. This shift has helped to ensure that there is less anxiety from those that see me on a regular basis. In essence, I have learned through experience, that I can make my point without using examples from my day to day life. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
