Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

Telephone: The Literal Connection

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on February 21, 2013

Well, for those of you curious about my technological updates, here goes. My land line is going away, but my phone number (310-824-4912) remains. I will still be able to answer the phone, which is a part of my day which always surprises my callers. I am glad I can keep that. My leap forward is that now I will get messages in digital format, allowing me to have a written record of my calls, which I imagine will increase my efficiency, and yet, will not be a significant cost-saving. I also get more room on my desk, which I think means room for one more pile. What about the user interface, you ask? Well, that is interesting. Call me and you can hear the experience. You will hear my name, then hear music, and then hear my voice-mail  The music is new, and for those who feel like waiting an additional minute to get to my voice-mail is annoying, then there could be irritation. On the other hand, just ask me for my cell, or email me, and I will respond, so no need to fret about that minute. I am hopeful this is a win/win for all. Although I am known as responsive, I think this technological renovation will increase my turnaround time. My office, like our new world almost mandates, will be in my pocket. What’s next, you ask? E-calendaring and E-prescribing-now those steps are large! Stay tuned.

 

See also…https://shirahvollmermd.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/310-824-4912/

8 Responses to “Telephone: The Literal Connection”

  1. Ashana M said

    As long as I don’t have to pay attention to a long and complicated phone tree after which I then need to select an option I can’t remember anymore–and none of which I want anyway.

  2. Paul said

    I enjoy how you write about these aspects of your work. You make it all very real.

  3. Jon said

    As some things change, some things remain the same. In this case the realization is land lines and phone numbers. One feature that may still exist on your new telecommunication interface is the pressing of the # key to go straight to leaving a voice mail and skipping the music and your voice mail message. It will be interesting to see if this works.

  4. Shelly said

    Since I call you so often, how exactly does it work without a telephone?

Leave a Reply

 
