Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

Eating Anxiety

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on July 10, 2012

What do YOU eat for anxiety?

8 Responses to “Eating Anxiety”

  1. Jon said

    My drug of choice – chocolate, of course.

    • Shirah said

      So, I understand you to be saying that, for you, chocolate mitigates all kinds of stress. It is nice to have an antidote!

      • Jon said

        Yes, for me, chocolate is both a stress mitigator and a life style. It is nice to have an antidote; however, as William Claude Dukenfield, better known as W. C. Fields, once remarked, “Everything I do is either illegal, immoral, or fattening. “ I go for the last of this trinity. ;>}~

  2. Oh dear, chocolate chip cookies, most definitely. I might as well rename them “my feelings” so others understand exactly what I’m ingesting when I say “I’m eating my feelings.”

  3. Shelly said

    Red River Chardonnay.

    • Shirah said

      Alcohol is yet another variant of suppressing or numbing feelings. Essentially, chemicals change our brains so that the negative effects of the external world are somewhat, or totally muted. We can laugh about it because it strikes a chord in all of us. Once again, humor hits at our unconscious feelings.

  4. Sarah Elbaum said

    Almond milk or soy milk, chocolate flavor!

Leave a Reply

 
