Shirah Vollmer MD

The Musings of Dr. Vollmer

Archive for January 18th, 2011

‘I Am A Fish In A Net’

Posted by Dr. Vollmer on January 18, 2011

Maureen, fifty-two, could not decide to stay with her boyfriend of five years or leave him. She was also terribly unhappy with her job, but she was afraid to look for a new one. To add to that, Maureen wanted to take a trip, but she was not sure where she wanted to go. “I am a fish in a net,” she said, so clearly describing her experience. “How are you going to get free?” I ask, wondering what her thoughts are. “I don’t know, I am really stuck,” Maureen says, in a predictable fashion. The image of being that fish in the net really stuck with  me. To imagine, feeling like you have been caught and now you are struggling to get out, but the outsiders see you as having no hope of escape. The torment, the angst, seemed horrible to me. Once again, I had no answers, only a very deep pause, enabling me to imagine her experience.

Posted in Musings | 2 Comments »